I’m Normal, Everyone Else is Weird

I’m going to start this post with a side note! I need a “lay flat” Bible. Reading a passage that’s along the inside of the page and typing is extremely difficult!

Sunday Service!

Ok! So, they’re starting a new theme for service! “Weird, because normal isn’t working.” The Pastor used Matthew 7:13-14 to support the theme and I’m going to include it the verse (I think that’s what it’s called.) I’m including it because I really, really liked the service today! I’m sure I take away from it differently, less spiritually, but I liked it a whole lot! Seriously, kudos to the Pastor and everyone who helped with the service today!

My Bible is the New Living Translation

“You can enter God’s Kingdom only through the narrow gate. The highway to hell* is broad, and its gate is wide for the many who choose that way. But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it.”

*7:13 Greek The road that leads to destruction

The Pastor talked about how coming to church is easy, listening to his sermons is easy (It’s like God with a side of comedy hour! {He didn’t say that, I am.}) Actually living as a Christian Monday through Saturday is the hard part. What are you doing in your life that separates you from the norm? He gave examples of “weird” people in the church: A couple that are selling their house and donating it to the church and an eleven year old kid that gets up early every Sunday to get there at 6:30am to help set everything up were a couple that stuck out. He listed a few weird things he does that helps him stay focused and avoid temptation. Admittedly, I thought this was hilarious because I got caught up in the show last weekend… He said he doesn’t watch shows with naked people doing things to avoid thinking lustful thoughts. His example… Game of Thrones.

Honestly, after Drogo died, that killed the lustfulness of the show for me. I loved him and Daenerys as a couple, I almost quit watching when he died!

Ok! Back on point! He also said to write this down “If you want what normal people have, do what normal people do. If you want what few people have, do what few people do.”

If you’ve seen me, you know I don’t exactly fit the “norm.” It’s not all about my person style though. I think a lot of people don’t like me because I’m not afraid to share my opinion (Note: Choosing not to share it is different from being afraid to share it.) I’m honest to a fault and tend to offend people when I tell them things they don’t want to hear/admit to. My son will absolutely not grow up to be an entitled brat! Manners still matter, even if most of the kids in his generation aren’t taught them (I’m admittedly guilty of having poor manners of my own, but we don’t play monkey see, monkey do in my house.) I nursed my son until he was 14 months old (It’s awesome that nursing is starting to be normalized!) I believe in the husband being head of household (Oddly enough, that can be Biblically supported!) It’s considered “weird” that I ask my husband if I can spend money on things. Most women I’ve met make condescending noises and promptly announce how they’ll spend money on whatever they want and to hell with what their husband thinks about it.

After all the things I do differently and I see the positive affect it’s had on my life, I’ve come to the realization that what I do is normal and what other people are doing is weird. I’ve picked my battles with my son wisely and I’ve be consistent in what I say to him. Thanks to that, I have a generally well-mannered child. I’ve watched other parents do what’s now considered normal and cave to their child’s every whim. Thanks to that, they have spoiled, manipulative, entitled little brats that no one wants to be around. I’ve conceded to my husband’s wishes concerning our household over the last five years. We discuss things and try to meet in the middle or at least come to an understanding about each other’s view, but in the end, my husband decides the action plan. We have arguments like anyone does, but we’re happy. We’re secure in our relationship and our marriage. There’s no ultimatums, no threats of leaving. I’ve seen couples that both try to dominate the relationship. It’s like watching two rams during mating season! Butting heads until one gets a concussion! They’re not secure in their relationship. I’ve heard people talk about the “what ifs” and the “if X happens, then I’ll do Y” in an attempt to know where the cards will fall. That’s not healthy and that shouldn’t be considered normal.

FYI: NONE of you know the couple I’m referring to above (Unless you’re one of my neighbors, you may have met them in the past when my son was allowed to spend time with them!) I don’t want any ill-feelings to come out of this. I RARELY interact with the above mentioned couple because of their horrendous behavior and absolutely intolerable daughter.

I LOVE this statement!!! It’s also the best way to put my “take away” from this sermon. It was too awesome to break down into my own witty little take-aways.: There is no such thing as cookie cutter weird. God has a custom weird for you!

You’re not weird or even creating your own norm if you’re copying someone else! You’re just a copy cat!

bethisguy

Evening Meeting!

I was late to the evening meeting and totally rationalized my tardiness! I was early for the first two evening meetings, so that makes it ok, right? Not! I felt really bad about it… I got home from morning service, intended to lay down for a couple hours… I even set an alarm, which I turned off in my sleep when it went off.

The meeting was focused on discovering your personality type and your spiritual gifts. So, I’ll share my results with you!

The personality types are divided into D, I, S, C… I’m a C/I and C/S. I tied for I and S as my secondary personality trait. Apparently C is described as Melancholy. Webster defines melancholy as: an abnormal state attributed to black bile and characterized by irascibility or depression; depression of spirits; a pensive mood. (Bonus definition: irascibility – having or showing a tendency to be easily angered.) I’d generally agree with that definition. I’m a realist with a pessimistic view of things. I freely admit that I have a short fuse! There’s no point in not admitting it, because it’s typically obvious when stupid happens around me. My secondary personality traits are described as follows: S – Steady, stable, analytical, people oriented, and introverted. I think it’s applicable. While I somewhat like people, I’m happiest just people watching. I like to analyze other people’s interactions and behavior rather than interact with them. I think that explains how it can be people oriented, but introverted at the same time. I – Influential, interested in people, witty, easygoing, outgoing, and people oriented. Having recently had someone tell me they looked up to me was a little shocking. I don’t try to be influential, I’m just unapologetically me. For “interested in people,” I think referring back to the people oriented explanation of S would suffice.

As for my spiritual gifts! Craftsmanship and Discernment are my top two (They said to mark the top five.) I think craftsmanship is a dead giveaway! I do everything arts oriented I can get my hands on! I sew, knit, crochet, turn wood, carve wood, paint, draw, apparently write, my husband and I do a lot of home repairs on our own (We tore out our shower to the studs, including the concrete shower pan and we’re building it back! It’s waiting for a couple more tiles and grout)… I know there’s other things I do, but I can’t think of them right now. Discernment as defined in the booklet I was provided for these evening meetings is: The gift of discernment is the divine strength or ability to spiritually identify falsehood and to distinguish between right and wrong motives and situations. Aside from the divinity of it, I can totally agree with that. If you are or have lied to me, I probably know, but haven’t called you out on it. I don’t know why, but I can read it on people’s faces when they’re lying! I also like to analyze motives, there’s something fascinating about what prompts people to do things and then I like to analyze whether or not it’s a just motive. My third gift is Service. I think Biblically it focuses on service to people because all other creatures on earth were biblically put here for us and are beneath us. I value animals over people because the majority of animals are incapable of malicious deeds. Sure, we humanize our dogs and say they chewed the couch cushion to get back at us for leaving them while we went to work, but that’s not true and you should know it. They probably have separation anxiety and you should be working to overcome that, not demonizing the deed. As far as people, my soft spot is veterans. I’ll give my last dollar to a vet that asks for it. My dad, the majority of men on my dad’s side of the family, my mom, and my father-in-law are all veterans. I don’t agree with the motives of our nation, but our troops took an oath to our Constitution. That’s all that matters to me. They took an oath to uphold my freedoms. My fourth gift, Prophecy and is defined as: The gift of prophecy is the divine strength or ability to boldly speak and bring clarity to scriptural and doctrinal truth, in some cases foretelling God’s plan. I don’t believe in God, so I’m fairly torn on this one. How the hell can I bring any sort of clarity to something I don’t believe in?! I think the only justification I can glean from this is that I’ve used it to benefit those that do believe. From what I do know of scripture I’ve had incredible conversations about faith. Maybe in speaking to those about it, questioning their conviction, bringing up hard topics has made them analyze their own faith and build a stronger bond with God. Foretelling God’s plan is a little odd too… I knew my grandfather would die or maybe I just wished it so hard it happened (He deserved it, you can ask me about it if you want, but I won’t blast it across the interwebs.) I knew my neighbor in Tennessee would be murdered by her boyfriend (That’s truly haunting and I honestly tried to convince her to leave him. Important side not: If you’re the victim of domestic violence, please seek help. It ONLY escalates, I promise.) I also called twins and a failed epidural for a friend’s pregnancy. The last one, Leadership and it’s defined as: The gift of leadership if the divine strength or ability to influence people at their level while directing and focusing them on the big picture, vision, or idea. Seriously?! I don’t want to be a leader!! *insert toddler-like stomping* If you want to follow what I’m doing or where I’m going, great, but I’m not trying to influence anyone! Maybe a little in the way of greater acceptance for people, but generally, nope! Not interested in any kind of leadership role! A lot of the time, I can’t even make it to the end of a project for myself! How would I lead people to end of something? If you could see all the half done projects I have boxed up around my house, you’d laugh! I have a blanket sitting in a box in my closet that I started over five years ago, guess what! It’s not finished! So yeah, not sure how I ended up with leadership as one of my gifts.

So there you have it people! My Sunday was full of awesomesauce! I’m still beyond thrilled with my decision to have my son attend this church! I’m really looking forward to the rest of this series of sermons! I don’t think I’ve ever heard someone deliver a sermon and keep everyone so attentive! You can’t help but listen! And if I’m taking stuff away from it, the people who actually believe have to be leaving feeling some kind of incredible! They’re so lucky to have this team of Pastors!

Leave a Reply

